Professional Awards

2024 BC Economic Development Awards

The BC Economic Development Association's (BCEDA) BC Economic Development Awards acknowledges and celebrates outstanding economic development programs, partnerships, economic reconciliation endeavors, and marketing campaigns within the Province. These esteemed awards recognize the remarkable contributions made by organizations and individuals toward fostering positive transformations in urban, suburban, and rural communities, including Indigenous communities. Each category will present two awards, distinguished by population size. One award will be presented to a community with a population under 20,000, and another to a community with a population exceeding 20,000. This commitment to recognizing excellence in economic development underscores BCEDA's dedication to promoting inclusive growth and honoring the accomplishments of all communities across British Columbia.



View the Nomination Guidelines

Timeline & Entry Fees

Call for Entries Begins:  December 18, 2023
Final Deadline:  March 15, 2024 Extended to Friday, March 29th
Awards Presented:  May 8, 2024 at the BC Economic Summit in Penticton
Entry Submission (per entry): BCEDA Members $30.00 + GST/ Non Members $100 + GST. 




Marketing Innovation 

These awards recognize innovative and effective marketing materials used for attracting, retaining and fostering business as well as communication vehicles used by economic development organizations.
Examples of Typical Submissions:
  • General Purpose Brochure
  • Special Purpose Brochure
  • General Purpose Promotion
  • Annual Report
  • Paid Advertising Campaign
  • Newsletter/Newspaper
  • Magazine
  • General Purpose Website
  • Special Purpose Website
  • New Media
  • Special Event
  • Branding
  • Marketing Strategy
  • Marketing Campaign

Community Project 

This award recognizes a community or regional partnership that works together in on-going economic development work and activities.
Examples of Typical Submissions:
  • Technology Based Economic Development
  • Multi-Year Economic Development
  • Economic Development Training
  • Business Retention & Expansion
  • Entrepreneurship
  • Neighbourhood Development
  • Human Capital Program
  • Responding to Globalization
  • Sustainable and Green Development
  • Real Estate Redevelopment & Reuse
  • Public-Private Partnerships
  • Partnerships with Educational Institutions
  • Regionalism and Cross-Border Collaboration

Economic Reconciliation

This category includes submissions for partnerships, agreements and activities that advance shared reconciliation work. Category open to Indigenous, local and regional governments only.

Examples of Typical Submissions:
  • MOUs
  • Tourism partnerships
  • Forestry agreements
  • Cultural centres

Community Resiliency 

This category  recognizes programs, activities, and projects that represent a successful recovery initiative from natural and economic disasters, including the loss of a major employer, housing and labour shortages, as well as submissions that represent replicable measures undertaken to promote long term resiliency and/or sustainability from future disasters.
Examples of Typical Submissions:
  • Strategies that account for ups and downs in local and regional economic conditions
  • Projects that incorporate standards and practices to address the potential of disasters common to the area
  • Projects that begin to celebrate successes of recovery from disasters

Past Winners

2024 BCEDA Awards News Release
2023 BCEDA Awards News Release
2022 BCEDA Awards News Release
2021 BCEDA Awards News Release
2020 BCEDA Awards News Release
2019 BCEDA Awards News Release
2018 BCEDA Awards News Release
2017 BCEDA Awards News Release
2016 BCEDA Awards News Release
2015 BCEDA Awards News Release
2014 BCEDA Awards News Release